Skip to content

Join our mailing list

Keep up-to-date with events and Swami's travel plans:

Swami’s message for Navaratri

Blessed Souls,

October 1 is the beginning of Navaratri.

Navaratri literally means – nine nights. The festival of Navaratri denotes the worship of the Mother Goddess for 9 nights and 10 days. The 10th it is also called Dussehra or Vijayadashami (Dashami means the 10th day of the month in Sanskrit).

Durga Devi fought evil Asuras (demons) for 9 nights and 10 days and killed Mahishasura on the tenth day. Her victory or vijay is celebrated as Vijayadashami. All devout people observe these 9 nights and 10 days with complete devotion and faith to please the Divine Mother (Devi) who is the Shakti of this universe.

People observe fasting, follow vegetarianism, do puja and charity as this is the most auspicious time to please Devi. Navaratri is dedicated to the mother goddess in all her forms – she is Durga, Lakshmi, Saraswati, she is Tripura Sundari.

Durga is worshipped in these 9 days in 9 forms –

  1. Shailaputri
  2. Brahmacharini
  3. Chandrangata
  4. Kushmanda
  5. Skanda Mata
  6. Kartyayini
  7. Kalratri
  8. Maha Gowri
  9. Siddhidatri

Of the 9 days of Navaratri the first 3 days are dedicated to Goddess Durga who destroys the evil (here it means destroys the evil in us).

The next three days are dedicated to Goddess Lakshmi who bestows spiritual and material wealth in us after the evil has been removed in us.

The final 3 days are dedicated to Goddess Saraswati who showers on us the gift of real and eternal knowledge and wisdom.

The final three days are very important – the 8th day (Ashtami) is special for Goddess Durga and is called Durgashtami, the 9th Day (Navami) is special for goddess Lakshmi and the 10th day is for Goddess Saraswati.

We must understand that the divine power is one. The names are different and it is for us to tune into specific qualities on specific days so that we are immensely benefitted by it.

By doing fasting and rituals we gain immense mental peace, prosperity and happiness. By such spiritual practice we please our elders and ancestors, and we and all our future generations reap the benefits. Moreover a good example is set for upcoming generations when we follow these spiritual practices during Navarati. This builds sattvik qualities within us and thereby spreads peace and happiness.

On these 9 nights and 10 days, I want you all to weed out the bad qualities and offer complete surrender to the Goddess so that she will destroy our vices and usher in the light of spiritual wealth and material happiness and help you to attain moksha (liberation). Be one with the mother. Immerse yourself in the divine love of the mother.

With love and blessings,

Swami Atmachaithanya